Visit to the CMA (and Beeler Gallery)

Yesterday I was fortunate enough to visit the Columbus Museum of Art and Beeler Gallery on my own time. The CMA’s current exhibition The Sun Placed in the Abyss is a showcase of photographic and video works that address the significance of the sun in the history of these aforementioned mediums. The Beelr Gallery featured one single artist Roxy Paine in a show titled Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitor


In the Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitor exhibition, the viewer is faced with diorama-esque works from the artist Roxy Paine. The show features 5 of Paine’s large-scale models that portray modern-day human “habitats,” but without any humans to populate them. Each diorama is made in an almost life-sized scale and is constructed of a consistent material, such as maple wood in Checkpoint. Additionally, the objects are modeled in a way that when the viewer inspects them from a different point, the entire scene appears warped compared to another viewing point.The entire gallery is dimly lit with respect to the lighting featured in each of these large dioramas.

From what I saw, I felt that I could relate some of my recent works and my own interests to the art featured in this exhibition. Retrospectively, I can recall most of my works being influenced by the curiosity of viewing a “thing” from different, or many, perspectives. In a similar way, looking at Paine’s dioramas from the left side of the gallery room will be noticeably different from looking at it from the right side of the room. Much of my artistic interests involve the idea of taking many (or two, or even one) perspectives into consideration when contemplating any artistic work.

On another note, I am also interested in creating worlds through art. They may or may not be related to the real world, but I usually find that having some ties or influences from real-life events or things make these fictional worlds a little more engaging for myself. Paine’s recreations of reality appear somewhat “off” from the real world, in which normally busy spaces now appear quiet and still – these places could be places in their own strange universe.

Leave a Reply

